Google to Offer Buzz Privacy Reset

There are many privacy issues surrounding Google Buzz, a service that has left a lot of Gmail users unhappy and exposed. The auto-follow feature, in particular, has raised concerns and objections – even up to the White House.

Now, in an effort to address at least some of the privacy issues, Google will offer a privacy settings reset to all Buzz users. Google Buzz users will need to confirm (or change) their Buzz settings. This will start rolling out tomorrow. In essence, every user will be prompted with a confirmation page the next time they click the Buzz tab.

This might be too little too late, as much private information was exposed without the consent of Buzz users. Personally, I have no intentions of using Google Buzz. I shut it off on the first day it was launched, and I see no reason to retry it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *